Home Page   |   Friday Club   |   Parish Directory   |   Useful links


The present organ was built at the beginning of the twentieth century by Norman and Beard. Originally at the west end and part of the (now removed) extensive galleries, the three manual instrument was moved to the north side of the Church, In the present ordering of the Minster it separates the Sacristy to the East, and a Quiet Corner dedicated to Saint John the Baptist.

In 2000 the decision was made to update the organ, and after extensive consultation and discussion including the possibility of installing a digital organ, the Parochial Church Council agreed on a scheme affirming a traditional pipe organ, using and re-voicing existing pipes, but adding extra colour in particular enriching the pedal organ, electrifying the action, and installing an extra wind chest at a cost of £64,000.

Built in to this were options of substituting a detached console when funds are available, and modern technology to allow the use of the instrument without an organist. The developments to the organ were suggested by the then Organist and Choirmaster, Mr Michael Foster, with advice from Mr Paul Morgan on behalf of the Exeter DAC. The work was put in the hands of The Deane Organ Builders of Taunton.

The organ was re-dedicated by the Bishop of Exeter, Rt. Rev’d Michael Langrish on 11 February 2002 and the inaugural concert given by Mr Andrew Millington, Director of Music at Exeter Cathedral.



Trumpet 8’

Larigot 11/3

Suable Flute 4’

Lieblich Gedact 8’

Clarion 4’

Clarionet 8’

Harmonic Piccolo 2’

Dulciana 8’

Choir Octave

Choir Sub

Choir Union off

Swell to Choir


Trumpet 8’

Mixture 19.22.26

Twelfth 2 2/3

Principal 4’

Open Diapason ii 8’

Lieblich Bourdon 16’

Clarion 4’

Double Trumpet 16’

Fifteenth 2’

Flute 4’

Stopped Diapason 8’

Open Diapason i 8’

Choir to Great

Swell to Great

Great + Pedal piston coupler

Generals to swell


Oboe 8’

Contra Fagotto 16’

Horn 8’

Fifteenth 2’

Mixture 22/26/29

Principal 4’

Hohl Flute 4

Vox Celeste 8’

Salicional 8’

Open Diapason 8’

Rohr Gedact 8’

Swell Unison off

Swell Octave

Swell Sub


Trumpet 8’

Schalmey 4’

Double Trumpet 16’

Contra Fagotto 16’

Octave Flute 4’

Twenty second 2’

Bass Flute 4’

Fifteenth 4’

Lieblich Bourdon 16’

Principal 8’

Open Wood 16’

Bourdon 16’

Acoustic Bass 32’

Swell to Pedal

Choir to Pedal

Great to Pedal

Home Page    |   Parish Directory   |   Useful links